Nomad On The Move

Standard
Nomad On The Move

I was talking to my son the other day and once again he remarked that his mother is a nomad. And he’s right. In the past six years, with the exception of time spent in Guadalajara and Winnipeg, I’ve lived in Culiacan, Irapuato, Rosarito and Mazatlan in Mexico. I’ve been in Leavenworth, Washington for four months and this week it’s time to return to Mazatlan via Seattle and Los Angeles. 

Usually I’m chomping at the bit to get back to Mexico, but not this time. I’m looking forward to the warmth and sunshine down south, but I will miss the warmth and sunshine radiating from my new friends and church family here in Leavenworth. To say that the past four months have been a spectacular experience is an understatement. There are no words to adequately express how amazing my life has been here. And it is my fervent hope that I will be able to return next summer.

I was warned that I would find it difficult to leave here. I was warned that I would love the church here and not want to return to Mexico. But back in July that all seemed rather trivial. Until I arrived here. Until I acclimatized myself to living in a small town. After all, my original intent was to stay a few weeks to visit a friend and do research for my current work-in-progress. In my wildest dreams I never imagined the treasures I would find here.

That first night in July driving in to Leavenworth……………I was surrounded by majestic mountains on either side of the highway. Once we arrived in town, the twinkling lights transported me to a fairyland. To me it felt like Christmas, but as I was later to find out, this was nothing compared to what goes on in November.

Yesterday morning I was sitting in church and a swarm of emotion overcame me. I recall the first time I attended a service here and how strange it felt compared with other churches I had gone to in Canada and Mexico. Yesterday I looked around me and saw a sea of familiar faces and truly felt like I belonged here. And I am sad that I have to leave.

The holidays are fast approaching. I wish I could stay here for Thanksgiving and the tree lighting and the Living Nativity next month at church. I hear that the ice festival in January is awesome as well. This enchanting Bavarian town has grown on me.

Although it’s exciting to travel and have adventures, it also means always saying goodbye to people I’ve become close with. Yesterday at church there were lots of hugs. Last week’s Women’s Bible Study was my last and tonight  I will bid a fond farewell to my Life Group. I will always treasure the memories in my heart of my time here in Leavenworth. 

But now, unfortunately, it’s time to finish packing!

moving-day-overstuffed-luggage

About iamkaren23

I am a Canadian writer currently living in Leavenworth, Washington. I published When Glad Becomes Sad in 2009. My second book, Alive Again, was published in March of 2015. Both are self-help books. I am currently working on a third book, this time a work of fiction.

Leave a Reply

