Some Thoughts This Week

Standard
Some Thoughts This Week

Have you ever been in the mood to write, and yet can’t think of what to write about? Yep, that’s me today. So we’ll have to see what exactly comes out. As I ponder this, one of my housemates is sleeping peacefully on the table next to my laptop.

IMG_3652

This morning I was sitting out on the terrace upstairs watching some construction workers across the street tiling a roof. They hauled up these heavy buckets of a tarry adhesive on a rickety narrow wooden ramp to the top of the second floor. It is quite amazing that nobody has toppled off the roof or for that matter stumbled off the ramp under the weight of those heavy buckets. Sorry but no pics. I didn’t want to distract the workers and cause an accident.

Yesterday my friend wanted to buy some shrimp out on the docks so I tagged along. I was fascinated by the pelicans hanging around, so oblivious to all the boats and people bustling by them.

IMG_3690

Dia de los Santos Reyes was celebrated earlier this week. January 6th commemorates the time when the three kings came to visit the baby Jesus. It is customary to eat Rosca de Reyes, a bread decorated with fruit that has a trinket baked inside it.

Pan De Rosca

I love the beach here in Mazatlan, especially at sunset. I’ve been to beaches in Hawaii, California, Florida, South Carolina, Cuba, Punta Cana as well as several on the west coast of Mexico. Mazatlan is by far the most beautiful. 

IMG_7357

 

About iamkaren23

I am a Canadian writer currently living in Leavenworth, Washington. I published When Glad Becomes Sad in 2009. My second book, Alive Again, was published in March of 2015. Both are self-help books. I am currently working on a third book, this time a work of fiction.

Leave a Reply

