This Week in Winnipeg: Bomb Central

Standard
This Week in Winnipeg: Bomb Central

It’s the end of the first week of July, the first week of summer and it appears that Winnipeg has been riddled with violence. 

On July 1st celebrations were held at The Forks in Winnipeg to mark Canada Day. The news reported that a vicious stabbing had taken place. The violence continued with a bombing at a law office that seriously injured a woman. And the news last night reported another bomb at a law office in Winnipeg.

http://www.thestar.com/news/canada/2015/07/03/bomb-unit-responds-to-winnipeg-law-office-after-possible-explosion.html

This second bomb at a law office hit home for me for two reasons. This is the office of a lawyer I had used for years in the past. And this office is also located across the street from the building where my son works.

Then this morning there were reports of suspicious packages at City Hall and at a Canada Post depot.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/manitoba/suspicious-package-at-winnipeg-city-hall-a-false-alarm-1.3139741

What’s next?

I remember growing up in Winnipeg and never locking doors at all. My own children grew up decoding alarm systems. And I am thankful that I am not now a mother raising young children in Winnipeg today.

In the neighborhood where I live here in Mexico I watch the children playing freely in the streets. People sit outside of their homes and visit. Pedestrians far outnumber the vehicular traffic. Memories of my own childhood spring to mind. 

What has happened to Winnipeg? It has become a hotbed of danger. I read the headlines in The Winnipeg Free Press and they are constantly filled with assaults, murders and other reports of criminal activity. I was astounded to read a couple of months ago that a student had been fatally stabbed at a high school I attended. And just recently the airport was closed due to bomb threats. 

Is media hype the true culprit responsible for the increase in crime in our society? Look at some of these recent headlines from The Winnipeg Free Press:

Accused Winnipeg bomber went through long and nasty divorce, court records show

Andrea Giesbrecht, the woman who is facing six charges of concealing the remains of infants found in a storage locker last October, will go to trial on unrelated fraud charges against her.

Letter bombs targeted three women; more people could be at risk: police 

Law society disbars veteran city lawyer

The media selectively chooses to embellish the news in the hopes of attracting more readers. The worldwide exposure makes it easy for people to not only learn about crime but also to attempt to copycat the crimes they read about or see on television.

I recall the numerous festivals and activities that occur during the summer in Winnipeg. What will be the effect on tourism this summer with all this bad press? Let’s hope that the media will focus on more positive aspects that will attract visitors rather than scare them away. I have fond memories of Winnipeg in the summer.

I am shocked and saddened by the headlines this past week, and I hope that this coming week will be a better one.

 

About iamkaren23

I am a Canadian writer currently living in Leavenworth, Washington. I published When Glad Becomes Sad in 2009. My second book, Alive Again, was published in March of 2015. Both are self-help books. I am currently working on a third book, this time a work of fiction.

Leave a Reply

